Asian Kick #1 – The Refrigerator Stirfry

Posted on January 20, 2011

0


I’ve been on an Asian food kick lately. Mainly because it’s not only yummy and heavy on healthy veggies, but can also be fairly easy depending on what you make.

I’m a fan of the stirfry and spring roll approaches.

Here are two easy peezy things that I whipped up on weeknights.

One: The Refrigerator Stirfry.

I had made some coconut rice the night before for another meal and still had some left over.

I also had a few strips of chicken filet hanging around in the fridge (about 100 grams worth), and some veggies (broccoli, onions, spinach, tomatoes and mushrooms).

I heated up a pan. Drizzled about a teaspoon of olive oil, a spoonful of diced garlic and a handful of diced onion and the strips of chicken filet.

Threw some salt, pepper, and onion powder on the chicken as it cooked. When the chicken was half cooked I put the mushrooms and lightly steamed broccoli in the pan along with a 1/ 2 of the already cooked coconut rice. A drizzle of stirfry sauce and/or soy sauce.

Then I added a few cherry tomatoes and a handful or so of fresh spinach. Tossed that around with a bit more stirfry sauce.  Done! And ready for my belly.

Here is the result before it was scarfed down.

Posted in: Uncategorized